Laravel up and running on Cloud9

Cloud9 running Laravel application

Setting up #

The other day I decided to try out Laravel since I kept hearing about it and maintain a PHP website myself. The weekend previous I had developed a small node.js package using nitrous.io, so I figured I’d spare my laptops from the likely scenario of poorly installed dependencies and set out to find a suitable service since nitrous.io does not support PHP.

I picked Cloud9 IDE, having used it previously, and after fumbling a bit I came upon these easy steps to have a working Laravel application:

$ c9pm install php
$ curl -sS https://getcomposer.org/installer | php
$ mv composer.phar ../bin/composer
$ composer create-project laravel/laravel <project name> --prefer-dist

In order, they do the following:

Pros #

With a small amount of effort we got ourselves a development environment to work on a Laravel project, with the only requirements being a browser and an account.

The cool thing about Cloud9 is that you can easily invite other developers to live pair, and if you push the Run button it boots up the server and allows you to share your progress.

Cons #

I will warn you though, that some of the times I tried to create a project with composer it seemed to stall installing some of the dependencies. I killed the installation, but despite everything seeming mostly working I tried to recreate the project anyway.

One thing to note is that Cloud9 does not enable the Mycrypt extension, which means that the artisan command line tool is not available. If anyone knows how to enable that, ping me at [http://twitter.com/locks](@locks) and I’ll update this post.

Happy development!

 
72
Kudos
 
72
Kudos

Now read this

Nested components and angle brackets, a sneaky solution

UPDATE With the release of 3.10 you can now use :: for nesting. See bottom of the post. If you have been following Ember development, you might have noticed that starting with Ember v3.4, you have a new way to invoke components in your... Continue →